God sees Me!

It’s been 15 minutes since I pulled into the driveway. The rain isn’t slowing down. Another crack of thunder makes my heart jump. There’s no telling when the rain will stop. I sit and wait. All of a sudden I heard God say, “It’s time to get out. Go sit on the back porch and pray.” Me? Sit outside, in the rain, and pray? I go inside, grab a towel, my iPad, and turn on Hillsong Pandora. I can feel my heart creeping out of my chest. The thunder continues to roar and my hands shake. Alison Krauss beings to sing, “As I went down in the river to pray, studying about that good ol’ way. And who shall wear the starry crown? Good Lord show me the way!” The switch flipped and the rain stops. Alison Krauss continues to sing and I spread out on the deck, like a child about to form a snow angel. Clouds roll by and straight above me are three crosses. My heart starts to slow down and the hand tremors ease. It begins to hit me, like a ton of bricks, God was looking down at me. Flashback to the night before. I lay restless, tossing and turning, aggravated because I can’t fall asleep and overwhelmed by stress. All I can think to do is pray. God, I need to see you. Right now, in this moment, You are all I need. I have seen You in tangible ways but lately I’ve lost my “gold dust.” Staring at these three crosses, the dots start to connect. This beautiful song, my sweet friend’s blog posts, bible verses about living water, three crosses. God sees me! I’m stunned with happiness and excitement. This is a weird feeling. Moments ago I was afraid and now I’m jumping out of my skin, eager to share my spectacular experience with someone. Anyone. Scrambling to text my best friend, I’m so excited I couldn’t even gather it all up to process words. Anxious to share my experience and doubting that I wouldn’t be able to perfect my words fully, I formulate a text. Her response, “That’s beautiful! That’s so crazy how the universe works in so many odd ways. But that’s incredible!!” I wanted to soak in all that I could. This moment would be cherished forever. God showered me with “gold dust” and I am beyond thankful.

John 4:14 –  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.

 

Leave a Reply

