Distracting the Monster

“I must have flowers, always and always.” – Claude Monet

Lavishing Pink. Festive Purple. Bleached White. Vibrant Yellow. Flaming Red.

The breathtaking colors mold the atmosphere around me. Mason Jars are lined up. Birds are chirping happily and I hear the swooshing sounds of wind. The smell of rosemary is distinct and sweet. The neighborhood is quiet. Children are inside nestled in their beds napping or curled up with a book attempting to stay cool. The humidity is almost suffocating. Clouds, squishy like marshmallows, whirl gently by. I begin to delicately place various flowers into jars. Quickly I get sucked in. The monster is quiet. Nothing can come between  my soul and the present moment. The mind has become still. My focus is solely on the open blooms. Work, the monster, people, society, appointments. They all drift away. It’s like I’ve opened up a whole new world. I lose track of time. This becomes a form of art. Each flower is placed precisely in the jar. There is a home for each one. It’s all a process. Cutting, arranging and watering. Seven arrangements later, they’re complete. I know, in my mind, that I won’t be able to perfectly capture this feeling. I snap pictures anyway. Gathering and moving the small fractions of earth, I position each so. A sense of happiness and delight washes over me. Others should feel this warm, fuzzy like, feeling. The flower fairy goes to one house, then another, and another, leaving her magical flowers each place she goes. I’ve found my niche. Something so simple yet so transformative. It was only a few months ago that I discovered this new form of “therapy.” Deep down, my monster will never leave. It lives comforted in the pits of my being. There is no true escape. But just for a minute, the path is divided. I begin to wander on a path filled with endless miles of wildflowers. The monster sits. Defeated. I lead with authority and upper hand. Getting lost and falling out of this monster and “crazy” world becomes a new habit. I’ve become consumed with flowers and their mighty power.  

Psalm 96:11-12 “Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let the sea resound, and all that is in it. Let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them; let all the trees of the forest sing for joy.”

 

Leave a Reply

