Road less Traveled

“Sometimes all you need is 20 seconds of insane courage. Just literally 20 seconds of embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come out of it.” -We Bought a Zoo

 

{I am too full of life to be half loved}

Standing at the edge of the road, she faces the untouched path. There is no alternative routine and the time has come. The words, “I’m ready” replay in her head constantly but this time she feels as if she truly means it. She hears Tracy Chapman in the faint background.

I want to wake up and know where I’m going
Say I’m ready
Say I’m ready
I want to go where the rivers are overflowing and
I’ll be ready
I’ll be ready
I’m ready to let the rivers wash over me
I’m ready to let the rivers wash over me
If the waters can redeem me
I’m ready
I’m ready
I’m ready to let the rivers wash over me
I’m ready to let the rivers wash over me
I want to wake up
I want to know where I’m going
I want to go where the rivers are over-flowing
I’m ready to let the rivers wash over me
I’m ready
I’m ready

The young girl has prayed and prayed and now Jesus has laid it on her heart. “Take the first step.” She has been anticipating this moment. This new path will be far from smooth sailing but with her faith she will move mountains. During her travel road signs will pop up; therapy, healthy choices, body peace, confidence, each presenting the girl with that added ounce of hope. For the difficult part, logs and rocks occasionally block the path. Toxic people and fear foods. The numbers jumping from a scale will terrify her too. The only way to reach the end is to climb over these mountain like blockades. Ambivalence and relapse will want to steer her towards the wrong direction. The young girl will pray. Angelic birds fly quietly over the path. “That’s the freedom I want,” she says softly under her breath. The girl stands on the scorching black asphalt. There has to be a better view. A breathtaking, golden sun falling behind the evergreen trees. The enemy hurls himself toward her. Maybe this dull, lifeless view isn’t so bad. Her Father swoops in standing firmly beside the daydreaming girl. She begins to become intoxicated with His presence. Numerous thought bubbles float in.

“I deserve more than these lies.” “This abusive relationship has gone on for far too long.” “God is in control.” “Ed’s comfort is incomparable to the king’s divine love.” “Now is the time to fully love yourself.” “You have so much more to offer the world.” “Let MY light shine through YOU.”

The mind slowly turns as the youthful lady hands ALL of her baggage to Him. She can sense the process starting to change. The twisting and turning as her body perfects that specific yoga pose inches closer to her. That endorphin high from finishing her 13.1 mile brushes the girl’s body. Closing her eyes, she embraces what the future holds. Smiling brightly, she looks up to her daddy and grabs his hand. Together they cross over the hump bridging the road and path.

 

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread with them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

