Reason.

“You have been assigned this mountain to show others it can be moved” -unknown

 

{reason:// a basis or cause, as for some belief, action, fact, event, etc.}

 

“If you believe “everything happens for a reason,” but are turned off by God, substitute “a mysterious intelligence” or “Nature” or “the universe” or whatever. Point is, there’s a plan, and things happen because the plan (or planner) needs them to happen.”

 

Standing in the middle of the room the young girl questions her Jesus. What am I doing? Why am I here? The young girl felt out of place. This is not what she wanted to be doing. She compares herself to her peers. Having babies. Marriage. Graduation. All part of the young girl’s dreams. She did not want to be here for the rest of her life. Decisions constantly being picked up and thrown at her face. If there was a fast forward button she would’ve pushed it a long time ago. Can we skip the transition part of being a teenager to full blown adult? Is there some sort of fairy dust she can sprinkle to have a stable job, healthy relationship, group of great friends and a place of her own?

 

This is a fork in the road. She can either turn left or veer right. Her gut instinct screams at her. Be still! Don’t make a single decision yet! The young girl could not get her mind still long enough for a devotion or prayer. There was so much she wanted to say and a plethora of feelings. She did the only thing that never failed. Picking up a pen and grabbing a notebook, she began to write.

 

Dear Jesus,

I am lost and confused. I’ve reached a halt on my path and I understand that this is only a bump in the road not a dead end. I am unsure which way to turn. There seems to be so many options and opportunities that I feel I am being pulled in multiple directions. My mind is filled with so many “things” but I believe you already know my heart. I am at a loss for words. Chaos entangles my thoughts making it difficult to reach out. My heart aches and wishes to be set free. I surrender it all. Without you, Jesus, I can not do this. I don’t want to do this alone. Through the tears and pain, I find comfort in knowing that You have a plan for me. A plan far greater than I can imagine. Help the fire inside of my soul continue to grow. Bethel music reminds me that “I’m no longer a slave to fear. I am a child of God.” Jesus, shine Your light through me. Thank you for placing me exactly where I need to be. Even if I am blind now, the purpose of this time will be unveiled shortly. You are my planner and I understand that sometimes things need to happen because it is all apart of Your plan. My faith and trust are in you.

 

Shutting the notebook, she places her hand over her heart. Feeling it beat steadily yet quickly. She takes in a new breath. There is a reason for His doing. Behind the stress and clutter there is a lesson. Take a step back and peer into the situation. Shake things up a little. His timing is everything. Even the tiniest gestures have a bigger meaning. A gleam of hope brushes across her heart. She can do this.

 

Ecclesiastes 3:1 “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.”

https://youtu.be/f8TkUMJtK5k

Leave a Reply

