an open letter to “my person”

“We’re friends, real friends. And that means, no matter how long it takes, when you finally decide to look back, I’ll still be here.” -Meredith Grey (Greys Anatomy)

{friend :// a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard}

An open letter to “my person”:

If someone asked the question, “who in your life makes it most easy to be yourself,” without a doubt you would be the first person to pop in my head. There’s nothing to it. Point blank. Simple as that.

Something magical is in the air when we’re together. It’s like tiny little fairies have sprinkled pixie dust that breaks down any wall or barrier I may have up. You have a way of making it incredibly easy for me to be myself. My full authentic self. You accept me as the perfectly imperfect person that I am regardless of what baggage I may carry or what my thoughts reflect. Comfort and safety surround me when we’re together. Even through texts and phone calls the issues of the world are put to ease. There are countless things you do and say that make me feel like it’s ok to be me. Like those spontaneous text messages just because and the silly facebook videos. Or the conversations that only you and I can understand. It’s like we have our own language sometimes.

Just like any other human being, when I’m in a certain group of people I feel there’s a limit of what I can say or that I have to act a certain way. With you, that’s not the case. I don’t have to hide anything and there’s enough trust instilled into our relationship that I feel like I can talk to you about anything. And when I say anything I mean absolutely ANYTHING. You’re the first person I want to share exciting news with. The first person I turn to when I’m having a rough day. Through the highs and lows I only want to share them with you because I believe you will fully understand. I am constantly reminded of lucky I am to have such a selfless person in my life like you. God placed you in my life at exactly the time I needed you the most. It was all apart of His plan. He knew that you and I would be an unstoppable dynamic duo before we even met.

I cannot begin to piece together enough words or phrases to summarize the impact you made in my life. So forgive me if my words aren’t perfect because this short little letter can not begin to do all that you’ve done for me justice. I just hope that you see all that you were created to be and what an unexplainable impact you’ve made in one person’s life. Don’t ever stop being you.

I love you with all of my heart.

Love,

A deeply grateful friend

 

2 thoughts on “an open letter to “my person”

Leave a Reply

